Lowlands Bowling Club was founded on September 21st, 1892, making it the oldest active registered club in the greater Newcastle region.
Nestled in the leafy suburb of Cooks Hill, right next to picturesque Centennial Park, Lowlands has two synthetic greens with a newly renovated bar and a fantastic Bistro.
Lowlands has become somewhat of a staple in the novocastrian lifestyle and is the perfect place for small functions and events. The present members of Lowlands Bowling Club represent a cross section of the community, fulfilling important social and sporting roles with a strong interest in charity and community activity.
The greens greens are available for club games, rollups and organised social activities. Our Pennant teams have been very competitive in their respective grades and reflect the commitment made by Lowlands’ members. New bowlers are always welcomed to our club.
Our bar area, poker machine room and restaurant offer a different environment for those people seeking an alternative to the busy Darby street cafe strip, part of the colourful “Centennial Park”.
We have a large outdoor undercover area available for social outings or organized group barbeques. This area is regularly used by friends and corporate groups for functions that include a game of bowls and barbeque.
The nearby Centennial Park children’s area is close to the club and allows for parent monitoring of the children at play.
The club’s early history goes hand in hand with that of the former Newcastle City Bowling Club which started in October 1889 on the old cricket ground in Corlette Street, Cooks Hill.
Lowlands Cricket Ground Site
The history suggests that outsiders looked over the fence and were at a loss to understand the game of bowls. “Seems to me” said one, “that they are a lot of elderly gentlemen playing marbles with large wooden balls” but the game rapidly caught on.
In March 1891, as membership increased, bowls was played on a parcel of land called “the upper reserve” (King Edward Park.) Members who played on this upper reserve were known as “the highlanders” while those who remained on the old cricket ground were known as “the Lowlanders”
In September, 1892, the Lowlands Bowling club was officially formed and continued to play on the old cricket ground green until 1912 when the club moved to its present site in Centennial Park. This shift was the result of a gift from the Australian Agricultural Company which proposed the park as a centennial gift to the citizens of Newcastle. The grant set out the conditions that the park was to be used for recreation but there was to be no sales of wine, beer or spirits.
Lowlands singles champion 1912
November 30th, 1893
The present members of Lowlands Bowling Club represent a cross section of the community, fulfilling important social and sporting roles with a strong interest in charity and community activity.
Lowlands Board & Team